Pontchartrain Conservancy



[OFFICERS]

Patricia Meadowcroft Chair

Marcia St. Martin Vice Chair

Ben Caplan Secretary

Amy Cohen Treasurer

[DIRECTORS]

Michael Bagot Dickie Brennan Carl Britt Benjamin Caplan Jean Champagne Justin Gremillion John Kinabrew Martin Landrieu John Alden Meade Natalie Robottom LaVerne Toombs Zoila Osteicoechea David Waggonner Robert Williamson

Kristi Trail Executive Director March 17, 2021

The Honorable Peter DeFazio Chair The Honorable Sam Graves Ranking Member

House of Representatives Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Washington, DC 20515

RE: H.R.1921: Support to amend the Federal Water Pollution Control Act to reauthorize the Lake Pontchartrain Basin Restoration Program

Dear Chair DeFazio & Ranking Member Graves:

I would like to express our support for H.R. 1921 – the reauthorization of the Pontchartrain Basin Restoration Program within the Environmental Protection Agency. This program provides resources vital to the restoration of the ecological health of the Basin, as well as public education projects.

Although Lake Pontchartrain and its surrounding area continue to face environmental challenges, the Lake and its resources have made a tremendous comeback. Much of this success is due to interested and concerned citizens who want a clean, healthy Lake and Basin for this and future generations, all of which would not be possible without your support of this funding.

Sincerely,

Kristi Jual

Kristi L. Trail, P.E. Executive Director

cc: Honorable Grace F. Napolitano, Chair, Subcommittee on Water Resources & Environment Honorable David Rouzer, Ranking Member, Subcommittee on Water

Resources & Environment

[NEW CANAL LIGHTHOUSE]

Education, Development & Outreach 8001 Lakeshore Dr. New Orleans, LA 70124

[MAILING ADDRESS]

P.O. Box 6965 Metairie, LA 70009 504.836.2215 | ScienceForOurCoast.org [CORPORATE OFFICE]

Coastal, Water Quality & GIS 3501 N. Causeway Blvd. Suite 220 Metairie, LA 70002